The Prague Philharmonia

Prague Philharmonia The Prague Philharmonia was founded in 1994 by the world renowned conductor Jirí Belohlávek and under his leadership quickly became one of the best Czech orchestras with an international reputation. This has been confirmed by the orchestra’s long-term success with the audiences and critics alike, regular invitations from leading music festival and major concert halls worldwide and recording contracts with prestigious labels (Harmonia Mundi, Deutsche Grammophon and EMI among others).

The Prague Philharmonia performs with outstanding Czech and foreign artists among whom are the pianists Ivan Moravec, Jefim Bronfman, András Schiff, Elizabeth Leonskaja and Martha Argerich; the violinists Shlomo Mintz, Sarah Chang, Isabelle Faust and Pavel Šporcl; the cellists Mischa Maisky, Jean-Guihen Queyras and Jirí Bárta. The orchestra collaborates with such conductors as Christopher Hogwood, Marco Zambelli, Daniele Callegari, Marco Armiliato, Libor Pešek and Paul McCreesh.